Our Mission


The mission of East Hartford Interfaith Ministries is three-fold:


  • to identify and respond to human needs in our town,


  • to combine the resources of our member religious congregations for social service ministries that we could not support, as well, individually,


  • to encourage cooperation among the religious citizens of East Hartford by sponsoring interfaith observances, such as Community Thanksgiving Worship and gatherings for Community Prayer.


Member congregations make an annual donation to the work of EHIM and send delegates to meetings of the Board of Directors.  The Board meets six times each year.


East Hartford Interfaith Ministries is a 501(c)(3) organization. 


Other critical support is received through private individuals, corporations, charitable trusts, public grants, and United Way.  The United Way designation number for EHIM is A69127.


“Open your hand to the poor and needy neighbor in your land.”  (Deuteronomy 15:11)

Our Ministries





Friendship Center Soup Kitchen


Located at St. John’s Episcopal Church, in the basement of Corning Hall at Burnside Avenue and Main Street      (12 Rector Street), East Hartford.


Open: Monday/Wednesday/Friday

5:00 p.m. for a Supper meal


Sunday 2:00 p.m.




Pamela L. Douglas – 860-528-5605


Meals cooked and served by community volunteer teams.


Human Needs Fund


A volunteer coordinator interviews clients and disburses funds for emergency assistance for rent, utility, and medical expenses, making referrals to other agencies, as needed.  The office is located at First Congregational Church, 837 Main Street, East Hartford.


Office Hours are on Thursdays and by appointment only. 

Call anytime 860-289-4919.



East Hartford Interfaith Ministries

Peace…Shalom…Salaam…Namaste…Omm Shanti




Member Congregations:


  • All Saints’ Episcopal Church

  • Catholic Community of East Hartford, North

    • St. Mary’s, St. Rose’s, and St. Isaac Jogues

  • Crossroads Community Cathedral

  • East Hartford Islamic Center

  • Faith Lutheran Church

  • First Congregational Church

  • New Covenant United Methodist Church

  • Our Lady of Peace R.C. Church

  • St. Christopher’s Roman Catholic Church

  • St. John’s Episcopal Church

  • South Congregational Church

  • Temple Beth Tefilah

  • Wesley Memorial United Methodist Church